This year’s 32nd annual Leadership Awards Gala was such a success! Thanks to Event Services, the room was transformed into a stunning space to honor our fabulous leaders on campus.  Baker catering went above and beyond with the (very) heavy hors-d’oeuvres and I left feeling extremely satisfied and thrilled to celebrate the leadership skills of my fellow Bobcats!

Andrew Black receives the Charles J. Ping International Student Leadership Award. Award presented by Dr. Krista McCallum-Beatty.

Being part of the application process for the Leadership Gala, I knew a lot of the winners beforehand. It was amazing seeing it all come to life after months of planning. This is the first time I worked on this event as well as my first time attending the Leadership Awards Gala.  This event far surpassed any expectation I had.

You know the saying, “if you’re the smartest (in this case, most passionate) one in the room, you’re in the WRONG room”? Well, I could not have felt more in the RIGHT room at the Leadership Awards Gala.  Being surrounded by such caring and excellent leaders makes my job as a Graduate Assistant so worthwhile.  This is why professionals enter the field of student affairs and this event reminded me of why I chose to be a part of the College Student Personnel Program.

Nothing is more satisfying than the recognition of so many incredible students and the excitement that being recognized elicits. It is so empowering to see the success, talent and motivation of students on our campus. The energy in that room was incomparable to any other Ohio University event I have been a part of.  I can see why Vice President for Student Affairs, Ryan Lombardi, says this is his favorite event of the academic year.

Enough of my chatter, let’s continue recognizing the successes of our fabulous undergraduate and graduate Bobcats.  The recipients of the 32nd annual Gala are as follows:

Charles J. Ping International Student Leadership Award – Andrew Black (undergraduate) and Ibrahim Al-Yousef (graduate)

Stonewall Leadership Award – Camden Bailey and Nelly Herman

Women’s Issues Leadership Award – The Survivor Advocacy Program Peer Advocate Student Organization

Blackburn-Spencer Achievement Awards – Jeffrey Billingslea, Marcus Cole, Nile Harris, Michael Jones, DeJane Manuel and Joshelyn Smith

Blackburn-Spencer Scholarship Awards – Alexis Apparicio, Hannah Britton, Samantha Miller and Brenna Toth

Latino Heritage Achievement Award – Diana Kenney, Anjelica Moreno and Michelle Nelson

Francine Childs Diversity Leadership Award – John Brown

Edwin L. Kennedy Leadership Award for Outstanding Community Service (student) – Zulfa Rizqiya

Edwin L. Kennedy Leadership Award for Outstanding Community Service (organization) – Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc.

Dean of Students Jenny Hall-Jones presents the Rudy Leadership Award to Jeffrey Billingslea.
Dean of Students Jenny Hall-Jones presents the Rudy Leadership Award to Jeffrey Billingslea.

Outstanding Programming Awards – Beta Theta Pi’s “Wounded Warrior Project” (spring semester 2014); Ohio Student Education Association at the Lancaster Campus’ “Lunch and Learn” (fall semester 2014); and Power Gamma’s “I Love the Female Orgasm” (outstanding late-night programming)

Kerrigan Family Scholarship Award – Tyler Daniels

The Rudy Award for Outstanding Student Leadership – Jeffrey Billingslea

Outstanding Graduate Student Awards – M. Hashim Pashtun (master’s) and Lance Poston (doctoral)

Outstanding Senior Leader Awards – Lauren Albers, Gabriella Gullia, Omar Kurdi, Katlyn Patton, Amanda Siwek and Sarah Welch

John Newton Templeton Outstanding Senior Leader Award – Tiarra Comer and Zainab Kandeh

By Gracie Freireich

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s